2 min read

Fresh start [Ḿm̀alíté]

A brief one, while juggling fresh changes at work. Lots of music, though!
Fresh start [Ḿm̀alíté]
Doppelgang cookie stick-up crew. Hide your snack or we snap on attack!

I've spoken quite a bit about newness and beginnings in my posts so far this year, and I suppose one reason is that a significant new beginning has been in the offing, and now is the time. I completed my contracted stint at EBSCO, the company that acquired Zepheira, the company I co-founded in 2007. I'm charting out fresh fields, and a fresh way of working—insisting on 4 day workweek opportunities, to allow more time for my interest in the arts, and in development across the digital divide.

The mountain cold persists here, but that's not the only remnant from my previous post. Just for kicks, I have a slightly more sheltered fro the elements photo with my daughter and me featured for this post. Also, I ran the usual newsletter-based livestream set, now available on replay.

The Loomiverse Times (early February ed)

It's been a busy week of transition, and this will be a brief post, but there's certainly a lot going on. I've a new track, "Fly Freight / New York Sh" out in limited release (Bandcamp & Soundcloud).

Uche Ogbuji - Fly Freight / New York Sh

I had a second go at the Poetry Meets The Breaks DJ show, and it's up on replay, with the usual details.

Poetry Meets The Breaks #2

More new music

For an African music recommendation, dig this fusion of two legendary Cameroonian styles. Bikutsi meets Makossa. It appears Phillbill will be expanding this offering into an EP also titled "Bikossa Vol.1", so more of this sweetness to look forward to.

Phillbill - Bikossa feat. Styfler, Ego & Prido

My son sent me a link to New Jazz Underground's buoyant cover of the Coltrane classic Giant Steps. The video opens with iconoclastic contemporary piano great ELEW absolutely shredding the ivory with jaw-dropping improvisation where the left and right hands are both dancing together and apart, as if in some hopped up lambada. It's glorious. I wasn't sure the rest of the session could match that opening, but the band certainly did, taking turns improvising and backing each other's improvisation in stellar post bop fashion.

New Jazz Underground - Giant Steps

On the B-Boy tip, I went for a fellow Coloradoan I just discovered. Ill beat on this one, and an assist from lyrical heavyweight Ruste Juxx.

GODZILLAS WAR SONG feat. Ruste Juxx

Again, it's been a short one, but that only means more in store. Please do consider sharing this newsletter with others, and subscribing, if you haven't (button in the lower right). Ever new sounds for the listening, new plays on the field of words, fresh takes for tech's sake, with the side sauce of odd juxtapositions. Dá àlụ́-nu!

❧ Égwú 🪘 Ókwú ✍🏿 Ígwè 📡 Ńdụ̀ ❣️